C is for Communication… and Cosmic Magnetic Fields?

“You know I’m bad at communication, it’s the hardest thing for me to do”

There are people who have something to say in every situation they find themselves in. I am not one of those people. Instead, I agonise over emails, I never manage to say what I mean in conversations and I take an eternity to construct a blog post or comment. But at least I can proudly say that I continue to struggle on! It’s not that I’m bad at it. I can actually be really quite good at interacting with people; it’s just a huge effort for me. I’m so shy!

As a new blogger, I’ve been wondering about social networks, and how much I should utilise them for blogging. I use Facebook to keep in touch with “real-life” friends, but what about platforms such as Twitter and Google+? Does anyone use Bloglovin’ to follow and find new blogs? What about Tumblr? I tried Instagram – even though I never used to take photos – and I think it’s great. Do you get the urge to sign up to all these different networks to see what you’re missing… or is it just me?

In other news, I’ve been offered a place in the shortlist for a mathsy PhD project to do with cosmic magnetic fields and turbulence and computer simulations and magnetohydrodynamics (a word which I think might be too long for me to cope with). It’s still not an actual offer, and it’s a different direction to the particle physics stuff I’m interested in, but I think it could be really cool! I’m just so tired of waiting and wondering and getting my hopes up about these PhD applications.

6 Comments

  1. Congrats on the PhD project news!

    Regarding social media, I like Twitter because it is short and quick. I agonize over blog and facebook posts, too. Lots of practice with A to Z, though!

    I commented on you comment on my blog, but just in case you don’t see it, you should check out the novel A Mango-Shaped Space by Wendy Mass regarding colors and numbers, letters, music.

    Yvonne

  2. That’s really a very good and interesting topic. Well, I would consider myself as someone who has to say something to almost every topic, but I think that doesn’t neccessarily have to be a positive thing. Sometimes it can happen that I talk shit about subjects I have not clue about :’D
    I actually think that one can train this, especially maybe by posting and commenting things on the social networks. Since my early teenage years, I grew up with social networks. I loved posting, writing and commenting on the internet, and still do. I almost have an account on every possible network: Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, Pinterest, Google+, Stumbleupon, WordPress, even Blogspot, but I have never blogged there. And I don’t really use Google+. Pinterest and StumbleUpon were only interesting at the beginning. I don’t really go online there, but Pinterest was really nice, maybe I should have a look there again, soon. Twitter was one of the sites I visited the most often 2-3 years ago, but since I signed up at WordPress, I neglected my ‘blog’ there which actually can’t be called blog, because it was just about reblogging pictures. That’s also why I got bored and wanted to start a blog where I can write more. Twitter was a bit different. I signed up there years ago, but used it quite scarcely. I mainly used it to follow stars and musicians and so on. Then there was a pause. I almost never posted anything there, and also never checked my feed. One of the reasons was also that almost none of my friends used it. But now, I met two new friends who I follow regularly, and post some things myself as well 🙂 But I still don’t use it as often as Instagram, WordPress or Facebook.
    Puh, that was a long comment. See? That’s what I mean with talking too much and that it can turn out to be a disadvantage 😉

    • I really think there’s a lot of value in being able to bullshit your way through life! It’s a skill I’m slowly trying to develop. I’d forgot I had a Pinterest account – I used it to collect smoothie recipes and wardrobe ideas, things like that. I meant to make a board for all the places I’d like to visit. It’s great for inspiration! But it’s also great for wasting time. I definitely procrastinate too much – I probably shouldn’t sign up for any new social networks!

  3. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! I am much the same way, but because I’ve been writing my blog for 813 days and must say there are days it’s easy and others not so much. Keep working at it. Stay committed. It’s the most rewarding writing I do.

    Oh by the way, I use social media to share my blog and while I don’t know how much followers I’ve gained (I just can’t seem to figure out the analytic part), I know it’s one way I have brought readers to my blog. So if that’s what you’re looking for, jump in!

    Grace,
    Donna (fellow A to Z Blogger)
    http://www.fullmeasureofjoy.com

Leave a Reply

